Workspace in Ireland

13/12/2012 18:13

 

We are back in Ireland and after a few days of hard work we are more or less up and running again. Of course, there were some problems when we arrived here. We had no water! Alan had a look at the pump and found the problem but it was not something he could fix himself. Some electric part had completely burnt through and had all sorts of melted cables hanging out of it. It looked more like a piece of modern art! Fortunately, it was still early enough in the afternoon to call the company that installed the pump and they promised to come early next morning. Which they did! The part was exchanged and, hey presto, we had running water again.

The next problem was the TV. The power cable did not want to stay in. The plug kept moving so there was something wrong with either the plug or the socket in the TV. We took the TV to the shop, which is quite a long drive. We explained the problem. The shop assistant had a good look at the cable, took it and pushed it in. It worked! We felt like idiots. However, you really had to push hard and Alan told me not to force it. I am also very pleased to say that he also tried to push the plug in and did not manage! So, all problems solved.

However, I am very pleased with the state the house is in now. It was not as damp as it used to be.  Even though last winter was very wet and apparently, summer wasn’t  much better either. We left all windows tipped open just a few millimetres so that the wind could blow through the entire house! It was cold but did not smell damp.

The internet connection is not very good. There are long periods without any connection at all and when it is available, it is very slow. However, I can still remember the days before the mobile telephone! Things have changed a lot since then and the internet has really changed my feelings about spending time in Ireland. I no longer feel cut off when I am here. I can still have contact with my friends and family, by either email or Skype and I can order things over the internet (that is when it is working!).

The house is finished upstairs and I have made a nice little workspace for myself on the landing, which is the warmest place in the house. When the sun shines, I have wonderful light on my worktable as it is standing just under the skylight. The worktable is not optimal yet. It consists of two shelves on some trestles but it works.

The garden needs a lot of attention as it is completely overgrown.  It really looks like a jungle.  It took Alan the best part of half an hour to get to the firewood, which he keeps at the bottom of the garden. The weather is not too bad now, so he has gone out with the strimmer and chainsaw to get rid of some of the growth. We cannot even let the dogs into the garden. You cannot find them again when they get lost in the montbretia which grows like weeds here.

I have made a nice little workspace for myself on the landing, which is the warmest place in the cottage in Ireland. When the sun shines, I have wonderful light on my worktable as it is standing just under the skylight. The worktable is not optimal yet. It consists of two shelves on some trestles but it works. On the table is also my latest project. A bag that is already looking very professional but it not quite finished inside.